EASTHAMPTON POLICE DEPARTMENT
FIREARMS LICENSING APPLICATIONS
***PLEASE NOTE, FIREARMS LICENSING TIMES HAVE CHANGED***
Applications will be accepted and processed on:
- SATURDAYS 9:00AM until 11:00AM
- WEDNESDAYS ***BY APPOINTMENT ONLY & FIREARMS LICENSE RENEWALS ONLY, NOT NEW APPLICANTS*** Please contact Sergeant Serino at (413) 527-1212 Ext. 1028 to request an appointment
A CASH FEE is required at the time your application is processed. No photos are required.
Application Fees, Renewals:
- New LTC applicants must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a permit. In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140 § 131(a) & (b), issuing of LTCs is also “subject to such restrictions relative to the possession, use or carrying of firearms as the licensing authority deems proper.” An LTC costs $100.00 and is valid for 6 years.
- New FID applicants must be 18 years or older (or 14-17 years of age with parental consent. Applicants 14 years old may apply, but will not be issued the card until they reach age 15). In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140 § 129B, “Any person residing or having a place of business within the jurisdiction of the licensing authority or any person residing in an area of exclusive federal jurisdiction located within a city or town may submit to the licensing authority an application for a firearm identification card, or renewal of the same, which the licensing authority shall issue if it appears that the applicant is not a prohibited person.” The fee for an FID card is $100.00 for people 18 years of age or older and $25 for applicants under 18 years of age. It is valid for 6 years.
- Firearm License Renewals – Firearm licenses are valid for 6 years. You must submit a request for a renewal prior to the expiration date of your current license. If your application for renewal is made prior to the expiration date, your current license remains valid until the renewal is either approved or denied. Additional training is not required.
Training requirements: In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 140 § 131P (a) all first time firearm license applicants must successfully complete a Massachusetts Certified Firearms Safety Course or a Basic Hunter Education Course and submit a certificate of completion along with their firearms license application.
- Certified Firearms Safety Courses are taught by independent instructors certified by the Massachusetts Department of State Police, and are usually a 1-day course.
- Basic Hunter Education Courses are administered by the Division of Fisheries & Wildlife and are taught throughout the state by certified volunteer instructors. The Basic Hunter Education course includes recommended performance guidelines for all novice hunters. People interested in obtaining a hunting license as well as apply for an FID should take this course.
If you have any questions, please contact the Firearms Licensing
Division of the Easthampton Police Department
at (413) 527-1212 Ext.1028
The forms below are PDF files. If you don't have a PDF reader, click here to get to the Adobe Acrobat site, where you can download a free Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Firearms Identification Card Change of Address Form (Change of address form for firearms ID card)
Firearms Licensing Application (Fireams application)
For additional information on gun licensing in Massachusetts, click HERE